Skip to content

A goal is a dream with a deadline

February 4, 2010

I have had a very productive first few months of this year. I started with understanding what’s important to me. What do I really want to do if I knew I couldn’t fail. Three big ideas are most meaningful to me.

Do what I love.

Be with people I love.

Strive for happiness.

I then worked on my dreams, which all relate to these three big ideas.

1. Be a transformational leader in organizations
2. Reach financial freedom and passive income
3. Travel and live in summer
4. Develop and grow love relationships
5. Grow my understanding of the universe
6. Meet interesting people and learn from them
7. Maintain physical fitness and healthy living
8. Invent and create original thoughts and ideas

Out of these I found my goals – keeping in mind that a goal is a dream with a deadline. So I created a 90-day, 1 year and 3 year goals to support each of the dreams. I’m not sure if the amount of writing below is necessary, but this post is giving me the space to put it all together in one document and it’s very useful to convert them to writing.

1. Be a transformational leader in organizations
90-day: Achieve exceptional results at NZTE
1-year: Launch World Mentor New Zealand and find the next career opportunity
3-years: Run a global organisation

2. Reach financial freedom and passive income
90-day: Identify and prepare for purchasing long-term cashflow
1-year: Have one independent income stream
3-years: Develop $20k per year in passive income

3. Travel and live in summer
90-day: Organise travel to LA in July + go to NYC in March
1-year: Travel to South-East Asia, California, New York and Australia
3-years: Spend 180 days every year in summer

4. Develop and grow love relationships
90-day: Spend a minimum of 5 hours a week with family
1-year: Start dating and be in a relationship
3-years: Be in a serious and long term relationship

5. Grow my understanding of the universe
90-day: Enrol in Chinese classes to continue studying Mandarin
1-year: Present at a conference – perhaps on social networking?
3-years: Get to know a new industry in detail. Donate a scholarship to the University of Auckland.

6. Meet interesting people and learn from them
90-day: Meet a new person every week and get to know them well
1-year: Increase meaningful friends on LinkedIn and Facebook by 20%
3-years: Develop business networks in US, NZ, China

7. Maintain physical fitness and healthy living
90-day: Complete the 100-pushup exercise program
1-year: Enrol in sports classes in a gym. Run a marathon
3-years: Become as healthy and fit as my grandfather

8. Invent and create original thoughts and ideas
90-day: Record and publish a song with my friends in NZ and LA
1-year: Create 10 artistic projects, write and maintain a blog
3-years: Be on TV and discuss original ideas. Write a book.

I think that covers most of what I really want to do.

Thank you everyone in my life for giving me the inspiration to focus on these and get tangible goals.

PS Special thanks to Money, who is both a jet-setter and a goal-setter. Her plans are here (private link, may not work).

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Money permalink

    to Manslow’s final goal of self actualization!! U are a beacon of light!

Leave a Reply

